Brain Game

Courtesy of Nick Driano Illustrations

I’ve said it before and I have to say it again… in my personal experience my brain is a MUCH stronger muscle than any other that I’ve been working to strengthen (I know, it’s not a muscle).  Some days it is strong enough to make me run when I’m sure I don’t have it in me.  But some days my brain puts more effort into trying to convince the rest of my body that I’m a fat smoker (I am neither).

My point is that I’ve realized my training is equally, if not more, about conditioning my mind to believe I belong in my Asics, and that I deserve to be out there for the long haul as it is to condition my body.  Every training session I’m getting a leg up on my mind, and the miles are racking up.  Brain, en garde!

Leave a Reply

