Running in Silence

I’ve been hiding from my blog.   You wouldn’t believe how creative my excuses have gotten as to why I haven’t updated with a post about the Baltimore Running Festival or my taper prior and recovery after.  It’s not for lack of material. I have lots to say.  I’ve been procrastinating because I’m hurt.

Literally.  I hurt my left foot a few weeks before my Baltimore Half Marathon and then spent every waking hour trying to figure out what I did and how to fix it.  At first I thought it was a stress fracture.   One day – during mile 6 of 10 – I felt a ‘twang’ in my foot.   I noticed it for the rest of the run, but not in a way that alarmed me in the slightest.  Next day?  The ‘twang’ morphed into a pointy sharp, red-hot pain.  It was concentrated on the top of my foot but with every footfall it sliced up the front of my shin.   I ran with tears in my eyes for the final 2 miles of that day.

I went immediately to the Orthopedic Surgeon.  It wasn’t a stress fracture, but a stress reaction.  Huh?

Do you know WHY I got a stress reaction?  (sad face) I think it was my beloved Newtons.  But I don’t blame the shoes.  I blame myself.  (ok, I blame us both).  I was so excited to buy the Newtons that I didn’t take the time to figure out which model I needed for my gait, and I ended up with the model that’s best for under pronators.  I am a neutral runner.  The Newtons are stiffer than I need, and the general consensus is that I adapted my gait in a way that put me at risk for injury.

So I’ve been moping.  I’ve been sad.  I’ve been running, but running in pain.  And when I am sad (or happy), I buy shoes.  Usually the higher, sexier, more fabulous the shoe, the better I feel afterward.  But this called for a different kind of shoe therapy…

This morning I headed to my favorite place – Road Runner Sports.  I knew it was time to let them analyze my running and recommend the RIGHT shoe.  Their process is pretty cool.  First they have you stand on a mat to check your arches, balance and where you carry your weight.  Then, you hop on a treadmill where they film you at foot level from behind.  The ‘analyst’ then walks you through the 30 seconds of film and notes all kinds of things about how you run, things you should take note of, and what kind of shoe you require.

I specifically asked for a minimal shoe because of my adoration of my Newtons.  I basically wanted a Newton minus the “lugs” that hurt my foot so much.  They brought me four choices, and the winner was evident the second I strapped them on…  the Brooks Green Silence.  Minimal, super lightweight, flexible, and with a low heel to help me maintain the mid-foot running style I am digging so much.

So this morning I ran in my Silence.  And I was elated.  My pain faded from a dull, quiet ache to almost non existent.  I beat my path through the beautiful autumn leaves, their hiss sounding like distant applause behind me.

And my running is right again.

Tagged , , , , , ,

One thought on “Running in Silence

  1. […] was Newtons that first made my heart go pitter patter.  But alas, it wasn’t meant to be.  After they hurt me, I moved on to my next loves; Brooks Green Silence.  I had a deep and enduring love of these shoes, and I think I bought four or five pairs in […]

Leave a Reply

