If the Shoe Fits…

…do you re-buy it?

It took me a looooong time to find a running shoe that I loved, and that I felt made me a better runner.  It was Newtons that first made my heart go pitter patter.  But alas, it wasn’t meant to be.  After they hurt me, I moved on to my next loves; Brooks Green Silence.  I had a deep and enduring love of these shoes, and I think I bought four or five pairs in various colors.  The only minor complaint I had with them was that I had blood blisters on my big toes after most long runs.  Small price to pay for love, though.  Then, one day, a shoe caught my eye and I honestly bought them without even trying them on, via a RoadRunner VIP introductory sale.  They were cool.  I was wooed.  And to my surprise, as I rotated them into my runs without any expectation whatsoever (except that people would say ‘WHOA those shoes are cool!’) I found that they felt great, were light and balanced, and didn’t give me blood blisters!  And (sniffle) I soon found I was tying them on instead of my beloved Brooks.

So now, with both pairs of shoes nearing the 400 mile mark or so, I am faced with a dilemma.  Re-buy one or both of the pairs I have, or go in search of a new love shoe that maybe holds even MORE magic.   I have my eye on the New Balance Minimus 10 Road, or the Nike Free 3.0 v4.  But the New Balance I have are hitting the sweet spot.

What do you do?

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “If the Shoe Fits…

  1. Sean says:

    Stick with the New balance Until one of my knees blew out in ’04, I ran for almost 10 years in the same model of shoe. Year to year, my fave was consistent, largely unchanged, and I trusted it.

    I get the itch to try something new, but if the NB is working for you, leave it alone.

  2. John says:

    I’d stick with what works, the grass isn’t always greener.

  3. YES! RE-BUY 🙂

    I love my Brooks Glycerin & although they are forever updating them, I know that they are a safe bet and a great fit for my running style.

Leave a Reply

